The Republic of Finland (Finnish: Suomi, Suomen tasavalta, Swedish: Republiken Finland) is one of the Nordic countries. Situated in Northern Europe, it shares land borders on the Scandinavian Peninsula with Sweden to the west, Russia to the east, and Norway to the north while Estonia lies to its south. Finland is bounded by the Baltic Sea, with the Gulf of Finland to the south and the Gulf of Bothnia to the west. The Åland Islands, off the southwestern coast, are an autonomous, demilitarised administrative province of Finland.

Population: 5,276,571 (111th)
Area: 338,145 km² (65th) / 130,558 sq mi 

* Intro text, area and population information from

Additional Information