SHC Solar Award


The SHC Solar Award celebrates the work of those committed to increasing the expansion of this renewable energy source.

This Year’s Award to Honor a Company

The 2015 Solar Award will recognize a private sector company that is contributing to the expansion and improvement of solar thermal technology through the application in their buildings, processes, etc. The type of company is endless – mining company, brewery, multinational company, and the list goes on.

The award will be presented at SHC 2015 in Istanbul, Turkey.

Nominees shall have shown outstanding leadership or achievements that support the work of the Solar Heating and Cooling Programme.

Nominations Due  –  May 1, 2015

Past Award Winners


  • 2014 SHC Solar Award
    French city Montmélian la Solaire - City committed to demonstrating solar thermal
  • 2013 SHC Solar Award
    Drake Landing Company – 52 homes heated with 98% solar
  • 2012 SHC Solar Award
    Dr. Frederick H. Morse
  • 2010 SHC Solar Award 
    ​Helmut Jäger, founder and general manager of Solvis Energyiesysteme GmbH
  • 2008 SHC Solar Award
    Professor Manuel Collares Pereira, founder and R&D Director of AO SOL, Energias Renováveis, S.A. and professor at the Technical University of Lisbon
  • 2006 SHC Solar Award 
    Dr. Volker Wittwer, Deputy Director of Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems in Freiburg, Germany
  • 2005 SHC Solar Award 
    Dr. Jan-Olof Dalenbäck, Professor at the Chalmers University in Sweden
  • 2004 SHC Solar Award 
    Professor William Beckman, Professor Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin
  • 2003 SHC Solar Award 
    Torben Esbensen of Esbensen Consultants A/S, Denmark